Lisa Christensen, AuD

Lisa Christensen, AuD

Lisa Christensen, AuDAudiologist, Outreach Support Services/Arkansas School for the Deaf, Little Rock, AR

BS: Communication Sciences, University of Arkansas Little Rock, 1997
MA: Audiology, Louisiana Tech University, 2001
AuD: Audiology, Salus University, 2006


Position Statement
Audiologists, as compared to other doctoral level healthcare professionals, function with much less autonomy. Much too frequently when an infant fails a newborn hearing screening or an adult experiences difficulty hearing, the first appointment occurs at the primary care physician or ENT office. Audiologists are the hearing health care professionals. I am optimistic for the day when audiologists are sought out first because of that expertise. Great strides have already been made to create thisAccreditation Commission for Audiology Education (ACAE). Even with these important strides, many more are needed for the level of autonomy that the profession of audiology deserves.

As new direct-to-consumer (DTC) Internet distributors and large entities increase, our need as audiologist to provide services and not only devices will become increasing important to our profession and autonomy. Audiologists: it is our specialized skills and services that define our value to consumers. Whether you bundle or unbundle, we must all now begin to show how our services make the difference over internet sales, PSAPs, and non-audiology providers. With your support, I would be honored to serve with you as we embark on this monumental journey.

Areas of Special Interest

  • Pediatric Implantable Devices
  • Pediatric Diagnostics and Amplification
  • Hearing Conservation


  • Jerger Future Leaders of Audiology Conference, 2008
  • Arkansas Speech Language Hearing Association, Audiology Award, 2008

Professional Activities
American Academy of Audiology Government Relations Committee, 2012present, State Leaders Network Committee, 20092012, Jerger Future Leaders of Audiology Conference Committee, 2010 & 2012, Arkansas Academy of Audiology, Founding President, 2009-2011